In 2015, new life will be breathed into the magnificent bel étage of Schloss Hof! Having been largely absent for three centuries, Prince Eugene of Savoy, who built the palace, will once again be welcoming his visitors, together with Maria Theresia, who made it her home after she was widowed, and her son, Emperor Joseph II., who financed the remodelling.

7reasons created the following parts of the new exhibition:

Staircase Projection

A wide staircase leads from the foyer to the actual exhibition space on the second floor. The purpose of this media installation was to draw the visitors’ attention to the  proper route and lead them to the start of the exhibition with a little teaser.

This was accomplished by projecting silhouettes of different people in historically accurate clothing on the wall, giving the impression that they were accompanying the visitors up and down the staircase. They were filmed using greenscreen technology and geometrically corrected for short-distance projection.

Dining Room Projection

A rear projection screen built into a tablecloth is used to show a short film describing historic dining culture and etiquette with the help of historic depictions.

Garden Room Projection

The main focus of the exhibition in the garden room is the role of Prince Eugene as a warrior, builder, and patron of the arts. An animation projected on the wall between two tapestries shows of the battle of Belgrade in 1717. This battle was the highlight of Prince Eugene’s military career, which, of course, boosted the general’s financial prowess. A static, historic map was digitally animated to show the complete course of the battle step by step.

Scientific Advisors: Dr. Claudia Reichl-Ham, Dr. Thomas Reichl, Museum of Military History Vienna

Miscellaneous

Further multimedia content included an animation on the subject “Prince Eugene as a Warrior of God” and an audio installation in the chapel.

Client

Marchfeldschlösser Revitalisierungs- und Betriebsges.m.b.H.

Team

Curators: Dr. Dieter Bogner, Katharina Knoll

Projects

Die Beletage von Schloss Hof präsentiert sich 2015 inhaltlich und gestalterisch in neuem Glanz. Die Leitfiguren der neuen Ausstellung sind Prinz Eugen von Savoyen, Bau- und Hausherr von Schloss Hof, Maria Theresia, die dort ihren Witwensitz einrichtete und ihr Sohn Kaiser Joseph II., der den Umbau finanzierte.

7reasons wurde mit folgenden Umsetzungen beauftragt:

Projektion "Stiegenhaus"

Im Eingangsbereich führt ein Stiegenhaus in den ersten Stock. Dort beginnen die eigentlichen Ausstellungsräumlichkeiten. Zielsetzung war, durch eine Medieninstallation die Aufmerksamkeit der Besucher Richtung 1. OG zu ziehen und sie am Weg mit einer Inszenierung zu begleiten.

Die Umsetzung erfolgte mit einer scherenschnittartigen Film von unterschiedlichen Personen in historisch korrekter Kleidung, welcher als Schattenwurf gemeinsam mit den Besuchern, die Stiegen hinaufschreiten. Die Aufnahmen wurden mittels Greenscreen Technik erstellt und mittels Kurzdistanzprojektion entsprechend der Geometrie projiziert.

Projektion "Tafelzimmer"

Auf einer Rückprojektionsfläche welche in ein Tischtuch integriert ist werden in einem Kurzfilm, die Merkmale der Tafelkultur basierend auf historischen Abbildungen ansprechend erklärt.

Projektion "Gartensaal"

Der Gartensaal befasst sich inhaltlich mit Prinz Eugen als Krieger, Bauherr und Kunstmäzen.  Eine Projektion zwischen zwei Tapisserien stellt den Schlachtverlauf der Schlacht um Belgrad 1717 dar. Die Schlacht bezeichnet den Höhepunkt Prinz Eugens militärischer Karriere, welche sich auch maßgeblich auf die finanziellen Möglichkeiten des Feldherren auswirkte. Inszeniert wird der gesamte Schlachtverlauf basiernd auf einer historischen Ansicht aus dieser mittels Computeranimation der Schlachtverlauf animiert dargestellt wird.

Wissenschaftliche Beratung: Dr. Claudia Reichl-Ham, Dr. Thomas Reichl, HGM Wien

Diverses

Weiters wurde eine Animation zum Thema „Prinz Eugen der Gotteskrieger“ sowie eine Audio-Installation in der Kapelle umgesetzt.

Auftraggeber

Marchfeldschlösser Revitalisierungs- und Betriebsges.m.b.H.

Team

Kuration: Dr. Dieter Bogner, Katharina Knoll

Projects